Retro Linkage – 3/24/2014

US_then_and_now

Occasionally, a relative, co-worker or friend will ask why I spend so much time immersed in retro culture and media.  Moreover, “Why do you like all this old stuff?  It’s not nostalgia, because you weren’t even alive then.  Seriously, dude, what the hell?”  There are myriad reasons, but mostly I’d prefer to appreciate and emulate the apex of Western Civilization rather than watch a reality show about Kim Kardashian and her giant ass.  Honestly, I’m surprised I even have to explain this?

In the spirit of questions such as these, Captain Capitalism has an excellent post regarding what we love about the United States of America, and whether or not it still exists.  According to him, it does not.

 An interesting and intellectually honest observation I had about the United States was that I never got to experience what I presumably loved about the US.  This made me realize I was being a bit hypocritical, because the US I experienced was anything but the US I was fighting for.

The US I loved was what I saw in television and was taught to me (either through parents, school, media, etc.). It’s history, winning WWII, the nuclear family, truth justice, gallant country westerns, dashing heroes like James Bond (I know, British), John Wayne, Robert Mitchum, beautiful women like Audrey Hepburn, Sophia Loren, Doris Day, not to mention its entertainment culture be it jazz, comedy, fashion, etc.  But that version of the US died around 1965 and I was born ten years after.  The US I got to live in was practically the opposite.

Destroyed families, divorce, Volker Recession poverty, hideous 70’s music, fashion, and entertainment.  Harlots and sluts for female actresses and vocalists, masculine women, effeminate men, spoiled rotten children, bullies and bitches, idiotic teachers, increasing taxes, recessions, bubbles, and prisons masquerading as schools.  And let’s not forget a selection of women destroyed by feminism, bigotry against white males, a progressive credentialism that ensured your youth was wasted, bogus careers with false promises, and never ever coming close to achieving the American dream a la the 1940’s.

No, the two were actually quite different and it forced me to conclude something.  I hate the United States.  I loathe it.  Not the idea of America.  Not the ideals the country was originally founded on, but what it has become and consequently the US I get to live in.

You have to admit, the Captain certainly has a way with words.  He goes on to render the past versus the present in stark contrast.

If you step back, clear your eyes, and take a fresh look, you can see this “real” United States for what it is and realize this is what you’ve had to live in and endure:

  • Lena Horne vs. Madonna vs. Miley Ray Cyrus
  • Duke Ellington vs. Kanye West
  • Jimmy Stewart vs. Matt Damon
  • Dwight Eisenhower vs. Barack Obama
  • Women with decorum and class vs. feminist brainwashed arrogant lippy brats
  • Strong, independent men vs. wimpy, simpering obedient, emasculated “men”
  • Powerful classy cars vs. EPA compliant boxes
  • Traditional architecture vs. minimalist crap
  • This vs. that
  • Don Rickles vs. Margaret Cho

I can go on, but how can anybody champion such crap?  How can you advocate the US in its current state?

As I’ve stated previously, I think one of the most appealing things about retro media is the ability to tap into the more optimistic and hopeful zeitgeist of a superior culture.  Apparently, I’m not the only one.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

